Starting a business as a single mom.

single-mother-of-a-daugher-los-angeles.png

There is so much to consider before starting a business and so much to do in order to launch a service.

I am hesitant to set a deadline for launching. Mostly because my time to work on this is so limited right now.

As I’ve said before I have a full time job designing at a marketing agency. Aside from that I am a single mother to a 3 year old girl. And although her daddy is a rock start and helps out a ton, there’s so much that eats up any time I have left in each day.

With the limitations of time, it is so easy to get sidetracked and miss out on what is happening in my own life. No matter what happens, Amelie is my top priority. And she needs my time and undivided attention for some portion of my every day. This is something I have to keep in mind everyday and work on improving.

I’ve been giving this a lot of thought lately.

In a sense I am starting this company because I wan to. Because I have this dream and idea of running my own business and I feel so passionate about this specific one. On the other hand I am fueled by my need to make a living that can allow me to give my daughter everything I want her to have. A good school, her own bedroom with Los Angeles crazy real state prices, a good college education (thankfully in many years), a change to start her career and adult life free of student debt, travels to other countries to broaden her horizons and open her eyes to the world. Everything I had growing up. All of which I see as responsible for the person I am now.

I need to ensure I won’t achieve this at the expense of not being a part of my daughter’s growing up.

I am starting a business with a mission to capture baby’s first months so parents don’t miss out on them! It would be disappointing if I allow this mission to make me miss out on my own child’s story.

Starting a business – and later on running it – takes a lot of time. And without the capital to leave my present job to focus on it, that time has to come somewhere after finishing my work and spending time with Amelie.

So when do I work?

At night. After she goes to bed. Or after work on the days her dad is spending time with her. Or during the weekends when she goes to visit her grandparents with daddy.

I used to spend this time with friends, dancing, shopping, drinking beer and talking. These days I spend it on my computer. Like now, while I write this post.

But I am loving it. I am not complaining.

Leave a Reply

